Kansas Animal Department of Health
BRAND REGISTRATION AND FIELD OPERATIONS
Under Kansas law, livestock brand registrations were started on a state level in 1939. Each brand is registered for a five-year period (original registrations are for four full years after the following April 1) with brands expiring on April 1.
Each calendar year ending in the number "9" or "4" has a larger number of brands for renewal than for other years. The brand registration fee and the renewal fee are each $45.00, the fee for transfer of ownership is $15.00. It is unlawful for any person to use a brand unless the brand is legally recorded in his or her name.
For more information please see website.